Last Monday night my second class met for the first time. I was surprised to learn that I know almost everyone in the class. It felt like a family reunion as we greeted each other. Now I am faced with the task of settling in for the semester, of juggling the demands of two classes, of getting my butt into the chair to write even when I don’t feel like it.

Another exciting first this week – it was my first week with reduced hours at work. I sold my boss on the idea of me working 30 hours a week instead of 40 with the intent to spend more time writing and to give some relief from a job I don’t much like. This first week felt half way successful. I got up early each morning and spent two to three hours writing, then went to work and put in my six hours. The writing part feels great. I was able to get a lot of words into the computer and to keep momentum going. I felt much more productive. The work part felt disappointing. Six hours feels the same as eight. But maybe that will get better. Last week was busier than usual and I was adjusting to new hours. So tonight I’m happy about having a little more time for writing.